DCMS appoints seven new Commissioners to the Gambling Commission

Updated:2024-03-30 08:41    Views:162

The Secretary of State has appointed seven new Commissioners to the Gambling Commission. 

Two weeks ago, the UK Government proposed a new levy on online gambling companies, as part of its efforts to address the issue of problem gambling, with funds going towards research, prevention and treatment of gambling addiction. 

Meanwhile, the new Commissioners include: Charles Counsell, Helen Dodds, Sheree Howard and Claudia Mortimore, who have been appointed for terms of five years, while Lloydette Bai-Marrow,Play Casino Online Helen Philips and David Rossington have been appointed for terms of four years. 

Lloydette Bai-Marrow 

Bai-Marrow brings experience within anti-corruption and is also an economic crime lawyer.  

Charles Counsell OBE 

Counsell was the CEO of the Pensions Regulator in his last role and prior to this was CEO of the Money Advice Service. 

Helen Dodds OStJ 

Dodds is an international lawyer, consultant and board member. Her experience has included being the Global Head of Legal, Dispute Resolution at Standard Chartered Bank. 

Sheree Howard 

Howard has over 25 years' worth of experience in the UK financial services industry and is currently the Executive Director of Risk and Compliance Oversight at the Financial Conduct Authority. 

Claudia Mortimore 

During her career, Mortimore has worked as a barrister, prosecuted drugs, tax and money-laundering offences for the Revenue and Customs Prosecutions Office and fraudulent trading offences for the Department for Business. 

Helen Phillips 

Dr Phillips is an experienced executive and non-executive, with a career spanning the public, private and not-for-profit sectors. 

David Rossington CB 

Rossington has worked for several Government departments, including for the DCMS as Finance Director and Acting Director General.